Search
  • Friends of Ingraham

Emily Irwin: Mindfulness and Teens


Friends of Ingraham was pleased to welcome Emily Irwin to our final Family Education Evening of the 2019-20 for a wonderful discussion about mindfulness and teens. We know that schedules prevented some who wanted to attend from participating, so Emily graciously recorded the presentation and shared her slides with us so that we could make them available to the community. Below you’ll find the list of resources Emily shared at the end of her presentation, as well as some that she mentioned during the discussion.


If you have any questions for Emily Irwin, you can contact her at contact@margaroad.com.



Zoom Presentation


PowerPoint Slides

Mindfulness, teens and mental health
.ppt
Download PPT • 13.24MB


Mindfulness Resources


Center for Child and Family Well-Being: Local resource that supports families and mindfulness practice, has adult and teen mindfulness courses: https://depts.washington.edu/ccfwb/


Jean Twenge: iGen; a book about teens and technology: https://www.amazon.com/iGen-Super-Connected-Rebellious-Happy-Adulthood-ebook/dp/B01N6ACK3B


Nadine Burke Harris, MD: The Deepest Well; https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-deepest-well-dr-dr-nadine-burke-harris/1125338426


Christopher Willard: Growing Up Mindful; http://drchristopherwillard.com/gum


George Mumford: The Mindful Athlete; https://georgemumford.com/the-mindful-athlete-book/


David A Treleaven: Trauma-Sensitive Mindfulness; https://davidtreleaven.com/

Johann Hari: Lost Connections; a book by Johann Hari about mental health and what we can do to improve it; https://thelostconnections.com/mobile/


Lisa Damour: Books/articles about teens and mental health; https://www.drlisadamour.com/


Tara Brach: Guided meditations and mindfulness resources; https://www.tarabrach.com/


David Flack: Local trainings/workshops about teens including one comping up called “Teens and the Pandemic Blues: An Online Training.” June 11, 9-12 w/ Cascadia; http://www.davidflack.com/coming-soon/


Insight Timer: Free meditation app, includes a teen course by Jessica Morey; https://insighttimer.com/meditation-courses/course_master-the-basics-of-mindfulness-for-teens


Ten Percent Happier: meditation app; https://www.tenpercent.com/

Mindful Schools: Online mindfulness training for parents and educators; https://www.mindfulschools.org/


Sam Himelstein: Runs Center for Adolescent Studies, online courses; https://centerforadolescentstudies.com/


Why Aren’t We Teaching You Mindfulness: TED Talk; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yJPcdiLEk


iBme: Mindfulness summer camps for teens; https://ibme.com/


Gina Biegel and Stressed Teens: Mindfulness courses for teens; https://www.stressedteens.com/


Peace in Schools: First for credit mindfulness course for teens in country; https://www.peaceinschools.org/


Space Between: Space Between is offering free virtual mindfulness, intentional movement, and compassion practices; https://www.spacebetween.community/


New Harbinger workbook series: https://www.newharbinger.com/self_help/category/mindfulness




65 views

Recent Posts

See All

Auction

We would love to have you join the auction committee. It's a great way to meet other Ingraham parents and connect with our Ram community. This year we are having an online auction format and it will b

 

1819 N 135th St

Seattle, Washington 98133

EIN: 46-2538697

  • Facebook

©2018 by Friends of Ingraham